It all started with one simple meal…

When I decided to do Live Below the Line, I knew it was going to be hard, I just didn’t realise how hard it was going to be.

Sunday night, I spent a good deal of time, measuring, weighing, and getting all my food ready for the week. While I did this, I thought. I thought about all the people in Australia that actually live like this, I thought about all the people around the world living like this, and it’s a very real problem. Live Below the Line supports East Timor, where almost 40% of the population live under the extreme poverty line, and most of the population are under 26…

I woke up fresh Monday morning, and decided I would do a little bit of a workout – Nothing crazy heavy, or extremely long, just a simple row, some double unders, kettle bell swings, pushups, sit-ups.. Basic… max time was about 45 minutes including warm up and stretching.

Cooking my breakfast was simple, some oats, water, a bit of milk and sugar on top good to go.. And that’s when it all began. I ate my oats, had a big glass of water and prepared for the day.

Little did I know that I would actually start feel very unwell after lunch…

I cooked lunch, (1/2 a chicken drumstick, a bit of potato and some mixed frozen veg) not a great deal. I made sure that I drank heaps of water and that I was well hydrated because I knew I wasn’t going to be eating a lot at dinner either.

By the afternoon I could barely function. I was so tired, so lethargic I thought I could just sleep for days. I put it down to the white potato and oats in one day. While I sometimes eat these foods, they are not something that I eat all the time. I added up what I had eaten so far, and it worked out to be just under 400 calories – Not all that bad, but considering I had worked out in the morning, it probably wasn’t enough.

It was before dinner that I “umm’ed and ahhh’ed” about doing the challenge, my mum didn’t really give me a choice and fed me some dinner. After dinner I felt so much better, and that’s when I decided that I wouldn’t be able to continue with the challenge.

One day was enough to open my eyes to the serious problem that is located around us in this world. I feel bad that I couldn’t complete the challenge, but at the same time I need to make sure I am alert, and ready to go for a day of caring for children, and their well-being is very important to me, so feeling tired and lethargic doesn’t really allow me to care for them properly.

I am currently looking into some volunteer programs, especially ones that deal with the homeless, and while I don’t know how much help I will be able to give in terms of hours, I do know that I can donate food, and money to help organisations to help these people.

 

I want to thank the people that did donate to the Live Below the Line cause πŸ™‚ It’s very much appreciated…

 

Leave a Reply

