A Day In The Life of Me…

Image

Since starting CrossFit and eating healthy, I have had my fair share of people who will make comments about these changes. Not so much negative comments, but a lot of comments about how they don’t know how I do it all. It got me thinking, maybe I should dedicate a post to what a day looks like for me.

No better day then today.

04:50am – Alarm 1. Usually when this alarm goes off, I press snooze, because 5 minutes of lying there in the serene quietness of my house is bliss. 

04:55am – Alarm 2. GET UP! Get ready, get out the door and drive to the gym. I am lucky that my gym is a mere 4 minutes down the road so I am never late (usually).

05:00am – CrossFit Session (Please note workouts vary, tomorrow will be different)

Todays workout:

Tabata Warm Up – Jump Squats

                               – Sit Ups

Tabata: 20 seconds work, 10 seconds transition, 8 rounds. Stretch

Strength –

5×5 Tempo Back Squats. 5 seconds down, 5 seconds up. 1 second pause between reps. Concentrate of form.

Conditioning –

14 minute AMRAP

9m Plate Push 15kg

12 pullups

15 Overhead Kettle Bell Swings

30 Double Under

AMRAP: As Many Rounds As Possible.

Stretch and rollout cooldown.

 

06:30 – Home, Shower, dress. Get breakfast for myself and my 2 year old daughter, Aubree. Dress Aubree.

07:30 – Do any cleaning that needs to be done. This usually consists of picking up toys, making the beds, putting on a load of washing and sometimes some studying.

08:00 – Start work. 5 days a week I care for 3 other children in my own home for 9 hours a day. This involves feeding them, changing nappies, playing games, doing arts and crafts, taking them to the park.

While they sleep between the hours of 12:00pm – 2:00pm I study. Currently I am finishing my Certificate III in Children’s Services, and come the 13th of February I will be back at the Canberra Institute of Technology finishing my Certificate III in Fitness, 2 nights a week.

5:00pm – Finish work. Start cooking dinner, clean up all the days mess – toys, food, take the rubbish out.

6:00pm – Dinner

7:00pm – Finish the cleaning, bath Aubree and get her ready for bed.

8:00pm – Get gym stuff ready. Put Aubree to bed.

9:00pm – Bed.

I am by no means a superwoman. I just try and manage my time well and get as much done in my waking hours as possible.

There is no excuse for me anymore… I give myself that time in the mornings so that I can care for others.

Make sure you make time for yourself – This is the most important thing. 

Leave a Reply

