Granola and Muesli Bars

Yesterday I got busy in the kitchen. Yes, it’s true I probably should have been doing my Child Care workbooks, but instead while the kidlets slept I did some cooking. There comes a time when pancakes and eggs no longer work for me, and I start to want cereal. I was never a big cereal eater when I was younger, but a bowl of porridge here and there, or maybe some Sustain every now and then was something that I looked forward too. 

Now that I don’t really eat that anymore, I felt like I was missing something with my breakfasts. Occasionally in winter I will probably have a bowl of porridge, because well, its yummy with cream and brown sugar 😉

I’ve tried a lot of different ‘Paleo’ granola recipes, but never really found one that I liked or that was the right kind of flavours for me. Thats when I started experimenting with didn’t mixtures. I’m pretty sure the mixture I have now is perfect (for me anyway)… Try it, adjust it, make it work for you….

Paleo Granola

Ingredients:

– 500g Raw Mixed Nuts (My local Coles supermarket has a scoop and weigh station, the nut selection that I choose has almonds, cashews, pecans, hazelnuts, macadamias, walnuts and probably more, but it does NOT have peanuts)

– 1 cup in total of dried fruit – This version I just made I had apricots and cranberries, but sometimes I mixed it up and add dried blueberries, strawberries, pineapple, like I said its completely up to you.

– ½ cup almond meal

– ½ cup pumpkin seeds/pepitas

– ½ cup coconut flakes

– ½ unsweetened dessicated coconut

-2 tbsp chia seeds

– 5tbsp of honey

– ½ cup coconut oil, melted

Method:

Preheat over to 160

In a food processor, crush the nuts to a mixture of sizes. You want a mix, but don’t over crush it otherwise you will end up with a mixed nut crumb.

Once the nuts are crushed, pour into a bowl and put the apricots in the processor and chop them til they are at a desirable size (if you are using dried fruit that is already similar in size to your crushed mixed nuts then don’t worry about chopping them in the food processor) – I try and make them roughly the same size as the cranberries. Add the dried fruit to the crushed nuts.

Place the coconut oil and honey in a saucepan and melt over a low heat, you want it to just be melted, not simmering or boiling.

While the coconut oil and honey are melting, add all the other ingredients to the nuts and dried fruit. This is a personal preference thing, if you like more coconut, add a little more coconut, if you would like more dried fruit, add some more 🙂

Once the coconut oil and honey are melted, pour over the top of the nuts and mix well. (To make muesli bars divide mixture into two even amounts.)

Place in the oven – You will need to watch the mixture, and mix it every 5 minutes or so until it is nicely browned on all sides. Cooking time can vary depending on your oven. It usually takes mine about 15 minutes to be completely done. After cooking allow to cool before storing in an airtight container.

Serve with almond milk, or coconut milk, coconut yogurt or greek yogurt – The choice is yours. I have mine with a little almond milk and a fresh banana.

Image

Muesli Bars

Snack choices are pretty limited for me. A can of tuna, some mixed nuts, a piece of fruit. I don’t eat a lot of snacks, because quite frankly my meals are pretty decent so I don’t need them, but sometimes I’m a little peckish mid morning. After I made the raw granola mix yesterday I decided I would try something with half the mix… Here is the result.

Image

 

Method:

Once the mixture is divided into 2 equal lots, in a saucepan combine 2 tbsp of your nut butter of choice (I used cashew butter) and 1 tbsp of coconut oil, melt over low heat.

Stir this through you muesli bar mixture. 

Line a baking tray with baking paper. Spread mixture into tray an push down. Place in the freezer for 10 minutes until the coconut oil sets the bars. Remove from baking tray and cut into desired size (Mine are cut into bite size pieces)

 

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

