Just Because You Are Eating Healthy…

Doesn’t mean it has to be boring. 

I very much enjoy food. I enjoy spending a good portion of my friday night looking for new recipes to try, planning the fortnightly meals with my husband. I enjoy grocery shopping (yes, even with my husband and almost 2 year old daughter), I enjoy bringing all the groceries in, packing them away in the cupboard, fridge, freezer. I enjoy cooking. I always have. 

When I first started looking into losing weight, I would see a lot of posts on Instagram of meals that consisted of just chicken breast and steamed broccoli. I applaud the people that can eat that every day. As I myself would find that very boring. 

I am lucky that I work from home, so there is no rush to get home and get dinner ready. I spend my down time in the day preparing ingredients for dinner, some mornings when I get home from CrossFit I get dinner ready. It just depends on what is on the menu for the night. Some nights my husband cooks, because I am at school (mind you most of the hard work is already done for him)

Last night’s dinner is a winner in this house. Its simple, takes about 20 minutes in total to get is started, and to the plate. Not only is it easy, its also cheap. 

So here is dinner from last night:

Image

 

Ingredients:

-1.5kg chicken wings
-1/4 cup raw honey
-1/4 cup dijon mustard
1/2 tbsp lemon juice
-salt and pepper to taste

Method:

-Preheat oven to 200*C 
-Place chicken wings in a pot and cover with hot water, place them onto boil and cook until about 90% cooked.
-Once cooked place the chicken wings on a rack to dry. Mix all the other ingredients together. Once chicken wings are dry baste the wings with the mustard honey mixture and back for 10 minutes.

Enjoy x

2 thoughts on “Just Because You Are Eating Healthy…

Leave a Reply

